Friday, December 10, 2010

Book Review: Nightshade

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Check it out here!

Summary: Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything - including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

Review: Nightshade is not your typical werewolf book. It's a rich and dark work carefully crafted with colorful and complex characters. There's a history and a purpose for the wolves in Andrea Cremer's story and she carefully explains the deviations from common folklore.

Calla is a strong and tough young woman. She is a natural leader and takes offense to being bossed around, even when tradition dictates she's number two in the pecking order. I loved the way she interacted with the men in her life and I loved the way that they called her out on her own bad behavior. It's refreshing to see some give and take. This is one of the only books with a love triangle that I actually understood and felt sympathy for the main character. Calla has a real connection to both of her love interests and it's understandable why she's drawn to them and having a hard time choosing.

I really enjoyed how the action was woven into the love story and how deep the world went. Cremer does a wonderful job world building, creating an entire history for all of her characters, not just the main character. The secondary characters were just as interesting as Calla and the history of the wolves is intriguing as well.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading Nightshade. It's a must read for any paranormal romance fan. Be warned though, it does end on a cliff-hanger. The followup, Wolfsbane isn't due out until Summer 2011, so there's a bit of a wait to find out what's happened.


Great paranormal romance. Nightshade is a quick and enjoyable read. It's not life changing, but it's well worth the 454 pages. Fans of Twilight, Vampire Academy, and Sisters Red will love this book.
 
 Review by Megan

Check out all of Shay Doran's special prequel video diaries, available on Facebook!

No comments:

Post a Comment