Thursday, November 18, 2010

Book Review: Firelight by Sophie Jordan

Firelight by Sophie Jordan
Available from LPL here!
Description: Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet among her kind, she nearly pays with her life. Until a beautiful stranger saves her. A stranger who was sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki - a descendant of dragons whose greatest defense is her secret ability to shift into human form. Forced to flee into the mortal world with her family, Jacinda struggles to adapt to her new surroundings. The only bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irresistibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will's dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away - if it dies she will be left as a human forever. She'll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy. Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide.



Review: This is your typical Romeo and Juliet story. It follows much the same story line as the other YA Paranormal Romances out there, just insert dragons for vampires/werewolves/fairies. Sadly, it's very predictable, right down to the "twist" at the end. There's little that's fresh or unique about the storyline, however, it's still worth picking up if you enjoy Paranormal Romance. What it lacks in original storyline, it more than makes up for in its fun and engaging narrative. The story is well-written and the main characters are likable and fun.

What I found most appealing about this book wasn't the romance between Jacinda and Will, it was Jacinda's relationship with her non-draki mother and sister. At the heart of Firelight, is Jacinda's struggle with her own identity and acceptance into a family that is very different from her. I found myself really frustrated with both Jacinda's mom and her sister. They claim to want what's best for Jacinda, however, what they really want it what's easiest for them. Jacinda struggles throughout the book with her conflicting desire to be a good daughter and sister and still be true to who she is. I think that's a struggle a lot of people can relate to.

Firelight is a great pick for fans of Twilight, Hush Hush, and Shiver. It stays true to the Paranormal Romance genre but stands out a little with it's superior writing style and deeper internal struggles.


Review by Megan.
Submit your own review here.

No comments:

Post a Comment